Ozark County residents to decide on tax proposal, school board positions in municipal election

Rent An RV Today - Exclusive Discounts

Zion National Park Vacation Rentals, Hotels & More Lodging Options

Missouri’s general municipal elections will be held Tuesday, nearly two months after they were postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. In addition to the normal school board races, Ozark County has a proposed local use tax on the ballot.

The tax residents are asked to decide on is 2%. If passed, the proposal would allow Missouri to collect and distribute sales tax to the county from online and mail-order catalog purchases.

Three positions on the Gainesville R-V School Board will be decided. Incumbents Marti Warden and Corey Hillhouse are joined on the ballot by Douglas Hawkins and Jeremy C. Kiger. Jerry Kiger did not file for re-election.

Three school board positions will also be voted on in the Dora R-III School District. Incumbents Cass Martin and Lindsay Collins are on the ballot with Jerry Moritz and Mindy Trail. Ed Lee is not running for re-election.

Three board positions in the Thornfield R-I School District are on this year’s ballot, and all three incumbents are seeking re-election. Travis D. Tucker, Terry Ewing and Donnie Cunningham are being challenged by Rita Renee Graham and William “Mitch” Cook.

A portion of Ozark County voters reside in the Ava R-I School District, and three of its school board positions will be decided. This year’s ballot includes incumbents Michael Steward, Kenny Fleetwood and Mark Henry along with Vern L. Deatherage, Troy Treadway and Lowell Strong.

The deadline for absentee voting by mail has passed. Registered voters can still cast an absentee ballot in-person at county courthouses.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI

Lowest RV Rental Rates in Amercia!

Utah Vacation Rentals, Hotels at Exclusive Discounts! AirBNB!

Source link

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *